Google tracks your every move. But you already knew that — even if you’ve never explicitly thought about it. The notion is completely understandable and explainable, for it is in Google’s interest to do so, and Google users frankly don’t care.

On Monday, the Associated Press reported that Google records your movements, courtesy of Android and iOS devices, even when you explicitly tell the company not to store your location data. Despite turning off the Location History setting, some Google apps automatically store time-stamped location data (though you can delete it manually).

On Thursday, Google admitted as much by updating its “Manage or delete your Location History” support page. Previously, it said, in part:

You can turn off Location History at any time. With Location History off, the places you go are no longer stored. When you turn off Location History for your Google Account, it’s off for all devices associated with that Google Account.

Now, that section states:

You can turn off Location History at the account level at any time. This setting does not affect other location services on your device, like Google Location Services and Find My Device. Some location data may be saved as part of your activity on other services, like Search and Maps. When you turn off Location History for your Google Account, it’s off for all devices associated with that Google Account. You can also turn off Location services for a device.

Does this really surprise anyone?

I’m not saying this is OK. Google’s previous explanation is nefarious at worst, misleading at best. But it is completely…

[SOURCE]