Recent events might have you contemplating a break from Facebook. That’s not an option for everyone; in that case, just tighten up your account settings. But if having your data mined for political purposes without your permission sketches you out, there are ways to extricate yourself from the massive social network.

If you’re ready for a social media break, here’s how to delete Facebook.

Deactivating

Facebook gives you two options: two options: deactivate or delete

The first couldn’t be easier. On the desktop, click the drop-down menu at the top-right of your screen and select Settings. Click General on the top left, Edit next to “Manage Account.” Scroll down and you’ll see a “Deactivate My Account” link at the bottom. (Here’s the direct link to use while logged in.)

If you’re on your mobile device, such as using Facebook for iOS, similarly go to Settings > Account Settings > General > Manage Account > Deactivate.

Facebook doesn’t take this lightly—it’ll do whatever it can to keep you around, including emotional blackmail about how much your friends will miss you.

As such, “Deactivation” is not the same as leaving Facebook. Yes, your timeline will disappear, you won’t have access to the site or your account via mobile apps, friends can’t post or contact you, and you’ll lose access to all those third-party services that use (or require) Facebook for login. But Facebook does not delete the account. Why? So you can reactivate it later.

Just in case that expected re-activation isn’t in your future, you should download a copy of all your data on Facebook—posts, photos, videos, chats, etc.—from the…

[SOURCE]